“Histories of Violence”


Curator: Gustavo Giacosa

14 April 2018 – 24 March 2019

Núcleo de Arte da Oliva Creative Factory



Histories de violence

a dialogue between the works from the Treger/Saint Silvestre Collection



Histories of Violence investigates the question of destructiveness inherent to human beings. How does it happen that the violence is present in humans and what are its origins? How does art use these destructive impulses?

In a very broad understanding of violence that does not focus either on a specific historic period or geographical zone, the exhibition presents a route constituted of seven separate moments. The artworks chosen by the curator Gustavo Giacosa come from various categories (Art Brut/Singular Art/Contemporary Art) as well as from different techniques and modes of representation. Among over 50 artists presented are the grand classics of Art Brut, such as Henry Darger, Friedrich Schröeder-Sonnenster or Franco Belucci and contemporary artists, like Robert Combas, Dado or Gonçalo Mabunda.

Gustavo Giacosa is interested in ways in which the artists from the Treger/Saint Silvestre Collection speak to us of violence: of rivals, of confinement, of guns, of wars and victims, choosing evocative counterpoints that are close to poetry, to the imaginary and sometimes to humor. Some artists introduce a distance between the subject matter and the shape it takes. Others pursue a purely instinctive creative act. The exhibition, conceived as dialogue, has been enriched through loans of artworks from the collections of Norlinda and José Lima, Gustavo Giacosa and Fausto Ferraiuolo, La « S » Grand Atelier and Christian Berst Art Brut Gallery.


Gustavo Giacosa


Presented artists:


Anonymous Spanish

Giuseppe Barocchi

Franco Bellucci

Giovanni Bosco

Pier Brouet

Georges Bru

Winston Cajuste

Hugo Carillo

Misleidys Francisca Castillo Pedroso

Robert Combas

Jesuys Crystiano

Dado (Miodrag Djuric)

Henry Darger

Jacques Deal

Pierre Dessons

Fred Deux

Tom Duncan

Jean Duranel

Reinaldo Eckenberger

Erró (Guðmundur Guðmundsson)

Guo Fengyi

Giovanni Galli

Patrice Girard

Josef Hofer

Foma Jaremtschuk

Joële (Nina Karasek)

Rosemarie Koczy

Fay Ku

La Mère François

Pascal Leyder

Eric Liot


Gorgali Lorestani (Zabiholah Mohamadi)

Gonçalo Mabunda

Artur Moreira

Camille-Jean Nasson

Michail Paule

Marilena Pelosi

Julien Perrier

Giovanni Battista Podestà

Rosa Ramalho

Martín Ramírez

Bernard Rancillac

André Robillard

Karine Rougier

Lionel Saint Eloi

António Saint Silvestre

Peter Saul

Friedrich Schröder-Sonnenstern

José Johann Seinen

Carolein Smit

Dominique Théate

Damián Valdés Dilla

Oskar Voll

Josef Wittlich

Carlo Zinelli


Photography: Dinis Santos